RSS Feed

New Year’s Resolution: 52 books in 52 weeks!

Happy New Year, everyone!  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season.  Personally, I am not thrilled to be back at work on January 2-I know, I know, being in school has spoiled me.  But I am excited about my New Year’s Resolution!

This year, my resolution is to read (at least) 52 books.  It’s based on the idea here, but I made one significant change.  My goal is just to read 52 books total, not to read exactly one book per week.  Some books are longer than others, some weeks are busier than others, and I don’t want to have to focus on just reading short books or light reading.  I haven’t figured out exactly how I’m going to keep track yet, but of course I will be posting plenty of reviews!

Christmas books!

Christmas books!

I got several books for Christmas, so those will probably be my starting point.  Here’s a sneak peek at some of the books I plan to read in 2014.

  1. Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James  Confession: Ok, so I read the first chapter of this book on Dec. 30, on the plane ride home.  It’s not like I’m going to stop now.
  2. Dune by Frank Herbert  My husband has been wanting me to read this (he’s a fan of the movie) and he got me a very pretty copy for Christmas!
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak   The movie has me intrigued.  I was going to try to read it before it came out, but as you can see, that didn’t happen.
  4. The Woman Who Died A Lot by Jasper Fforde   Mr. Fforde has a lot to prove after ending his second-to-last book on a cliffhanger, not continuing the series for a few years, and then coming out with a book that focused on another character and ended only slightly after the one before it….Hopefully now I can FINALLY find out what’s going to happen to Thursday Next!
  5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins   Everyone else has read it, and I want to see what all the fuss is about.
  6. Catherine the Great   Becca gave me this book, and I have been wanting to read it for awhile now.  This is going to be the year!
  7. Call the Midwife  by Jennifer Worth  This one comes recommended by my mother’s book club, so it must be good!

While I continue reading Death Comes to Pemberley, I’ll also be catching up on my blog posts!  I could have sworn I wrote one for Ender’s Game….It’s probably on a scrap of paper in my school bag….Plus I need to review the book I read over Christmas break and tell you which author’s home I visited on my latest trip to Massachusetts!

If you want to join me in reading 52 books in 52 weeks, you can sign up here!

-Elizabeth

(close up)

(close up)

2 responses »

  1. Robin of My Two Blessings

    Happy you decided to join in and look forward to hearing about your reads. I’ve read Dune (years ago) and The Book Thief which was excellent. I saw Hunger Games but haven’t read the book. A lot of folks read an average of 52 books and not one a week, since it depends entirely on the length of the book. I value substance over quantity. Happy Reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

