RSS Feed

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

Hello again!  I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  I had a very busy November, and most of my writing (and reading!) time was taken up with Nanowrimo, but I’m back and ready to get caught up on my reviews!

I have been meaning to read Gone Girl for about a year now, since it did so well on the “Best Books of 2012” lists.  I finally borrowed it from the library last month and got a chance to see what all the hype was about.  It was a quick read…mostly because I couldn’t put it down.  It helped that I had some downtime at work that week, thanks to placement tests.

My main impression of Gone Girl was surprise.  It was not what I expected from a thriller.  On reflection, I guess most of the thrillers that I have read had international and political plot lines, so that was probably what threw me off.  The differences made the story seem that much more fresh and exciting.

The story is told by alternating the perspectives of a woman who has disappeared and the husband who is searching for her.  Neither of the characters is overly likeable, but I understand why the author chose to portray them that way.  The disappearance seems to be related in some way to their failing marriage, but the story is much more complicated than it first appears.  Once the plot twists and turns get started, you won’t know what to think.  (But you’ll know why I had to read it so quickly!)

I’d recommend this book to just about anyone, provided they haven’t read it yet.  It’s definitely a crowd-pleaser.  It could also make a good Christmas gift.  I give this book four stars.  ★★★★

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

