RSS Feed

A Practical Wedding by Meg Keene

A Practical Wedding by Meg Keene

Hello again, everyone!

For my first post after a busy summer, I wanted to review my favorite wedding book: A Practical Wedding by Meg Keene.  I did a fair amount of reading and research while I was planning my wedding (since I had no idea what I was doing when we started!) and this book was by far the most helpful.

The book covers a broad range of topics.  There is very practical advice on topics like hiring vendors and setting up a budget.  I wish I had found this book back when we were just starting to plan!  The author used to work as an event planner, so she has a lot of great ideas about how to make those big decisions and stay organized.  Since most people don’t have experience planning large events (like weddings) before they get married, this is great!

Meg Keene also does a wonderful job of discussing wedding traditions.  Weddings have gotten much bigger over the past few decades, and many relatively new customs are marketed as “traditions” that are necessary to incorporate at weddings.  I really like the way A Practical Wedding encourages couples to really think about which traditions are actually meaningful to them and their families and to change or leave out the ones that aren’t.  For me, this positive, thought-provoking approach is what sets this book (and the blog) apart from other wedding media.

I would heartily recommend this book to any couple who is planning a wedding.  Family members who are helping to plan might also be interested in reading it.  I give this book five stars.  I liked it enough to read it twice and would seriously consider giving it as an engagement gift in the future.  ★★★★★

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

