RSS Feed

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

Happy Sunday!  It’s Becca, with a review of something a little different than our usual fare.  I recently read The Secret after it was recommended to me by a classmate.  For lack of a better label, I’d say this is a self help book.  I was told the message behind the book is the idea that if you put positive energy out into the world, you’ll get positive things back.  I absolutely love this philosophy, and was really excited to read this book.  I picked it up fully expecting to agree with all of it.  That was not the case.

A lot of the doctrine in this book isn’t only difficult to justify and believe, some of it is downright offensive.  The whole focus is positive thinking, but not in a way I can really get behind.  According to The Secret, victims of natural disasters weren’t in the wrong place at the wrong time (that doesn’t exist) they were just thinking the wrong thoughts!  At this point, I vowed to stop reading altogether, because I couldn’t believe that anyone would actually write such complete nonsense.  But my classmate encouraged me to power through it, so I did.

The rest was less offensive, but it was also completely impossible for me to believe.  Nothing I’ve ever seen or read has led to me to believe that thinking “thin” thoughts and eating whatever you want will lead you to lose weight.  I also don’t believe that after being diagnosed with an incurable illness, watching funny movies and laughing will cure you.  Or that by spending all of your waking hours thinking about money, you will suddenly have more of it than you know what to do with.  But these are all claims from The Secret.

I don’t want to be so close-minded as to require hard evidence for everything I believe in, but I definitely need more evidence than The Secret provides.  As such, I can’t recommend it to our readers, because I think it was one of the biggest wastes of time I’ve read thus far!  But, I do love an open dialogue.  If you got something out of this book that I didn’t, please, share!  I’d love to hear your thoughts and possibly gain some new insights on what is going on with this book and the author’s philosophy.

Until then, I’ll continue thinking positively, and trusting that good things will come to me through that process.  Just not in the way The Secret asserts they will.  Hoping for a better read next time!

0 stars

2 responses »

  1. Becca, you are too funny. I am so sorry you had wasted your time reading that book, but I commend you for finishing it. I personally have not read the book because I had a friend strongly NOT recommend it. I suppose everybody is entitled to their own opinion though. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

