RSS Feed

Elizabeth’s Favorite Books Growing Up

I have loved to read for longer than I can remember.  For my first booklist, I thought I would share some of my favorite books growing up.  These helped to shape my lifelong interest in and enjoyment of books, and quite a few of them continue to be favorites today!

First Grade: Beverly Cleary’s Ramona books- My uncle gave me two of these for my birthday in first grade.  They were my first chapter books, and I absolutely loved them!

Second Grade: The Little House series – This series was a Christmas gift from another aunt and uncle.  I think I read the entire boxed set twice that year.

Third Grade: Nancy Drew – My grandma found a lot of my mom’s old Nancy Drew books in her garage and gave them to me to read.  I was instantly hooked, and continued to devour books from this series (in chronological order, of course!) for the next several years.  Mysteries have been my favorites ever since!

Fourth Grade: The Secret Garden – This is one of my all-time favorite books.  We read it as part of a reading club in fourth grade.  I still enjoy re-reading it.

Fifth Grade: Susan Cooper – The first Susan Cooper book I discovered was The Boggart and the Monster.  I loved that it was set in Scotland, and I loved the folklore, so I went back to the library looking for more.  I discovered her series The Dark Is Rising and fell in love with that too.

Sixth Grade: Little Women – Mom gave me a copy of Little Women on my twelfth birthday because it had been one of her favorite books when she was twelve.  It’s still one of my favorites.

Seventh Grade: A Wrinkle in Time – My sister and I got several of these books for Christmas and read them together with our mom.  It is a fantastic series, but A Wrinkle in Time will always be my favorite.

Eighth Grade: Agatha Christie’s mysteries – I discovered some of Agatha Christie’s novels in the school library.   These were stand-alones like The Man in the Brown Suit, and They Came to Baghdad.  I didn’t discover Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple until later.

Leave a Reply

